Place Value

**EDIT & UPDATE**  Please see the bottom of this post for a change to one of the downloads.

One math concept that’s often hard to understand is place value.  Kiddo doesn’t have much issue with this, but I still wanted something that she could use to review what she’s learned.  Next year, she’ll be doing place value to the millionths.  That’s quite a ways on the right side of the decimal point!!  I created 2 games today to help children learn about place value and it works on their skills the entire time they play the game.

The first file folder game is Place the Value and works on place value from the ones to the billions place.  There are 2 sets of question cards.  One set has the answers on the cards and the other set doesn’t.  The set without is for those that want an individual to work on place value and don’t have anyone to read the question card.  There is an answer key provided to self-check the answers.  The set with answers is for more than one player games.  An opponent will read the question and know if the player answered correctly.  This game is complete with a die and player tokens.

The second file folder game is The Value of a Decimal with place values from the ones place, down to the billionths.  That is 9 spaces to the right of the decimal!!  This game has 2 sets of question cards as well for those that might only need it for an individual.  As with the game above, it has the answer key, player tokens and a die.

With both of these file folder games, it doesn’t have to be played up to the highest or lowest place value.  You can just play it with the place values that are currently being worked on and save all your place tokens and questions for a time when they’re needed.

As with all my games, please be sure to get all the pages.  I can’t say it enough, I don’t understand why someone would want to get 4 of 6 pages.  You’re just not getting the complete game and also not able to play the game the way that it’s meant to be played.

For my little “bonus” tonight for my readers, I have a set of Animal ABC’s cards with Storage Box.  This is a set of cards that uses pictures of real animals and has an upper and lower case card.  The first letter of each animal name is also highlighted so that the kids can recognize the relation between the 2.  It also has a storage box for the cards.  Some uses for these cards could be to use them as flashcards, concentration (memory), or a number of other game suggestions on the cards!!

I hope that you all can use these shares tonight and that the kids really have fun playing while they learn!!  If you like the file folder games and other materials that you see here or if you use them, PLEASE leave a comment and let me know!!  I have no other way to know if my materials get used or not!!

**EDIT & UPDATE**  It was suggested by DMarie in a comment that I used a different animal for the letters c, g, and s.  The animals that I used didn’t really work with pronunciation of those letters.  I have changed those 3 cards and also included a blank card in case there’s an animal that you’d rather use.  The cards were cheetah, giraffe, and sheep.  They are now camel, gull, and squirrel.  You can download these replacements if you’d like.

 

**The information that is posted on this blog is general information. It is not intended to substitute for obtaining advice from your principal, church or DRE. It is for informational and educational purposes only. All activities, games, information, etc. on this blog are free; however they are ONLY to be used for classroom and personal use. They may not be published on any websites, group, or other electronic media.  They also may not be distributed in newsletters, bulletins, or any other form or sold for profit. If you know someone who would benefit from these materials, please refer them to this blog. Do NOT share your materials with them. Copyright © 2008 & 2009. All rights reserved, unless otherwise noted.**

7 thoughts on “Place Value

  1. Thank you for the free shares. I took a look at your ABC flashcards, and loved so much about them (the pictures are gorgeous, some you chose for the vowel sounds were perfect), and would like to offer a suggestion. Some of the sounds we’re trying to teach for the alphabet aren’t represented by the animals, for example Cc for cheetah and Ss for sheep – these are great examples for the Ch and Sh sounds, but I can’t use them for the Cc and Ss sounds. Also the Gg for giraffe (maybe gorilla?). I appreciate all your hard work, and thought perhaps some ideas might be useful to you and maybe others? Thanks again.

    • DMarie, I appreciate your input. I could change those cards if you needed them to be. However, they were a request to be made this way from someone. It is more about letter recognition….upper case to lower case….and that’s why the first letter of each word is highlighted. They were needed to show that they really can and do go together. It wasn’t meant to be for pronunciation, although it’s something to take into consideration in the future. Thank you and please let me know if you’d like the cards changed.

      • Oh, my comments were not meant to be a criticism at all! I am sorry they came across that way. I absolutely “get” the matching letters activity they were intended for. That’s so nice that you take requests from people and make things for them to use, and doing upper-lowercase matching is important. Thought adding one more aspect could be helpful to somebody, so offered up the suggestion – it was not meant to assign you extra work! Sorry! They are awesome cards, and you should be proud of your work! Thanks. :)

        • I didn’t take it as criticism at all. If I had, I probably wouldn’t have made the replacement letters!! LOL I appreciate input. I just want everyone to be aware that my games are often requests and what might suit one, might not suit another. I saw your reasoning and by making just 3 cards, it was able to fill more of a need. Trust me, it wasn’t really work at all. Hopefully now you’ll be able to use them and they’ll work for your needs as well.

  2. Elaine,
    I am so thankful for you! My kids and I appreciate you sharing your hard work.
    Thank you so much,
    Jan

Leave a Reply

